Information on Welcome adresses

Jens-Norbert Wünsche, Professor Dr.

Jens Wünsche is professor for Fruit Sciences at the University of Hohenheim, Germany. After receiving a PhD in Horticulture at the University of Bonn, he worked as Postdoc at Cornell University and as group leader at Plant and Food Research in New Zealand. He is internationally known as crop physiologist, specializing on plant and fruit responses under different management systems and environmental conditions. Research focus is on identifying the specific causes of a given horticultural problem, understanding the underlying physiological and molecular plant mechanisms in response to the stressing factor(s) and developing preventative technologies to alleviate the plant stress. He is a Past-President of the German Society of Horticultural Science, Past Board Member of the International Society for Horticultural Science, responsible for Innovation, Outreach and Strategy, Board Member of the Centre of Competence for Fruit Cultivation at Lake Constance and Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Horticultural Science from 2007-2020.

© BPA_Steffen Kugler

Julia Klöckner 

Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture
Patroness of the 4th International Symposium on Horticulture in Europe

Julia Klöckner has been Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture since March 2018. After studying theology and political science and training as a journalist, Ms. Klöckner worked first as an editor-in-chief before becoming a Member of the German Bundestag from 2002 – 2011. She worked as Parliamentary State Secretary in the same ministry from 2009 – 2011. In 2011 she switched to Rhineland-Palatinate and became chair of the CDU parliamentary group in the Land parliament. She is deputy chair of the federal CDU and chair of the CDU in Rhineland-Palatinate. 

Friedlinde Gurr-Hisch MdL
Secretary of State / Baden-Wuerttemberg

Secretary of State Friedlinde Gurr-Hisch MdL was born in 1954. Before becoming a Member of the Baden-Wuerttemberg State Parliament in 2001, she taught economic sciences and politics at a vocational business college. In 2004 she was appointed Secretary of State at the Ministry for Rural Affairs, Nutrition and Consumer Protection Baden-Wuerttemberg, an office she holds again since 2016 following a brief period in opposition in which she acted as vice-chair of the Christian Democratic Union Group in BW-Parliament. She is married and mother of three children.

Eva Kähler-Theuerkauf
Vice President of the German Horticultural Association

Eva Kähler-Theuerkauf has been President of the North Rhine-Westphalia Horticultural Association since 2016 and Vice-President of the Central Association of Horticulture (ZVG) since 2020. After a commercial education, the businesswoman, who was born in 1962, worked in various companies in Düsseldorf, Krefeld, Neuss and Kempen. Since 1993 she has been co-owner of the Hermann Theuerkauf GbR nursery in Kempen. From 2014 to 2016, Kähler-Theuerkauf was president of the state association Gartenbau Rheinland e.V. and has held various horticultural honorary positions since 2014 as in the Advisory Board of the International Plant Fair (IPM) in Essen, member of the Main Committee of the Chamber of Agriculture of North Rhine-Westphalia and in the Presidium of the Research Society landscape development landscape construction (FLL).

Yüksel Tüzel
President of the International Society for  Horticultural Science (ISHS)

Prof. Yuksel Tuzel is the President of ISHS since 2018. She is full professor at the Department of Horticulture in Ege University, Turkey. She served as Chairperson of the Turkish Society for Horticultural Science (TSHS) between 2000 and 2003; ISHS Working Group Protected Cultivation in Mild Winter Climates, Vice Chair of ISHS Commission Protected Cultivation and President of IHC2018. Her expertise is vegetable production technologies in greenhouses. Prof. Tuzel has lectured on protected cultivation to under and postgraduate students.


Jens Wünsche

University of Hohenheim

Jana Reichel 

Interplan AG

Important dates


abstract submission



abstract submission

(author notification within 4 weeks)


abstract modification

early bird registration


full paper submission

(author notification within 2 months)


full scientific program


full paper modifications